Draft and Trade News

AFL Official Draft Selection Order After Finals

The AFL today released the the official order of selection for clubs for the 2019 NAB AFL Draft, following the conclusion of the 2019 Toyota AFL Finals Series. The complete list is attached.

The Draft Order includes the Future Selections traded in 2018 and the Assistance Selections for the Gold Coast SUNS.

Also included in the order is an adjustment to the GWS GIANTS selections recognising deficit points used in the 2018 NAB AFL Draft (Kieren Briggs), offset by surplus points from the 2015 Draft (Jacob Hopper) moving the GIANTS from Third Round (55) to Fourth Round (57).

This order is subject to change through the 2019 Telstra AFL Trade Period which will begin with next week’s club meetings at Marvel Stadium on Monday, October 7.

Remaining Key Dates:

Friday 4 October – AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period Commences.
Saturday 5 October – Rookie Me Victoria and Allies State Draft Combine.
Monday 7 October 9am – Telstra AFL Trade Period Commences.
Thursday 10 October 5pm – Close of AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.
Saturday 12 October – South Australian Draft Combine.
Sunday 13 October – West Australian Draft Combine.
Sunday 13 October – AFL Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer Three-Day Period Ends.
Wednesday 16 October 7.30pm – Telstra AFL Trade Period Closes (for exchange of players).
Thursday 17 October – Telstra AFL Trade Period Opens (selections only).
Friday 18 October 5pm – Application to Relist a Player Close
Thursday 31 October 2pm – List Lodgement (1) ; Rookie Promotion to Primary List; Retained 2nd & 3rd Year Rookies; International Scholarship Player; Alternate Talent Player Nominations; Club Notification of Rookie Players Not Accepting a Contract of Offer; Nomination of Draft Eligible Father/Son; Northern Academy, Next Generation Academy Players Lodged; TPP Pre-Season Estimates (1).
Friday 1 November – AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) Commences
Monday 11 November– AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) Closes, Out of Contract Listed AFL Primary List Players Draft Nomination Form and Player Request for Removal from List Form Lodged with AFL
Tuesday 12 November 2pm – List Lodgement (2); TPP Pre-Season Estimates (2)
Wednesday 13 November – AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) Commences
Friday 22 November 2pm – Telstra AFL Trade Period Closes (for exchange of selections only); Delisted Primary List Draft Nomination Form Lodgement; Non–Retained Rookie Players Draft Nomination Form Lodgement; Players Not Registered or Played for Three years Rookie List Form Lodgement; New or Expired (after 3 years) Draft Nomination Form Lodgement, AFL Father-Son Bidding Nominations, Final Draft Nomination Form Lodgement.
Friday 22 November 5pm – AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) Closes
Wednesday 27 November 7pm – 9.30pm – NAB AFL Draft Selection Meeting (Round One), Marvel Stadium.
Thursday 28 November 7pm – 9.30pm – NAB AFL Draft Selection Meeting (Round Two onwards to conclusion).
Friday 29 November 8am – 9am – AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3)
Friday 29 November 10am – NAB AFL Pre-Season and Rookie Draft
Monday 2 December 2pm – Final AFL Club List Lodgement; Final TPP Pre-Season Estimates

Husband, Father, dog owner, Richmond Football Club fanatic, HP TRIM / HPE Records/Content Manager Consultant, old fart, grumpy old man