What was Dane Rampe thinking?

  • Welcome to Yellow and Black Online. Registered Members gain access to tools and additional Forums designed to enhance your experience.
  • ✅ AFL Premiers 2019
    ✅ VFL Premiers 2019
  • Welcome to Tigerland

    AFL Men
    Thomson Dow (Bendigo Pioneers) Noah Cumberland (Brisbane Lions Academy)
    Will Martyn (Brisbane Lions Academy) Hugo Ralphsmith (Sandringham Dragons)
    Bigoa Nyuon (Dandenong Stingrays)
  • Welcome to Tigerland

    AFL Women
    Sophie Molan (GWV Rebels) Laura McClelland (Eastern Ranges)
    Ella Wood (GMV Rebels) Sarah Sansonetti (Northern Knights)
    Holly Whitford (Melbourne University) Nekaela Butler (GWV Rebels)
    Cleo Saxon-Jones (Western Jets) Laura Bailey (Richmond VFLW)
    Emma Horne (Richmond VFLW) Kate Dempsey (Richmond VFLW)
    Ciara Fitzgerald (Northern Knights) Emily Harley (Oakleigh Chargers)
    Lauren Tesoriero (Richmond VFLW)
  • Coterie Membership premium membership package allows the subscriber to enjoy the site without any advertising, access to a private forum, "The Coterie Room" as well as some other extra tools that you can use on the forum.

    Full information can be found here: Member Upgrades. I'll add more benefits as they are requested or as I think of them.


Should Essendon have received a free kick for shaking the post?

  • Yes - that’s what the rules say

    Votes: 2 33.3%
  • No - the decision was fine

    Votes: 3 50.0%
  • Don’t care - it was Essendon

    Votes: 1 16.7%

  • Total voters
    6
  • Poll closed .

Coach

Staff member
Coach
Foundation Member
Site Immortal
Jul 17, 2003
12,644
140
63
The rules of our game is unique in that many of the decisions are made using the umpires interpretation of the rule e.g. holding the man / ball.

This is a clear cut rule - did Rampe deliberately shake the post by his actions? Yes. Free kick.
 

Vosstiger

Staff member
Assistant Coach
Sep 21, 2008
5,194
76
48
55
I put don't care because it was Essendon but technically Yes it should have been paid
 

Readie9

Foundation Member
Aug 5, 2003
1,739
18
38
56
In my mind it's no free. Rules don't stipulate a free for climbing the post, but it probably should. Rampe climbed the post, which at this point, is not illegal. Post shook as a result of his climbing. He climbed the post to gain a height advantage in the hope of touching the ball if it came close. Rule states a free if the post is deliberately shaken. He did not deliberately shake it. Ump did right think by telling him to get down. One of the rare times the ump has used common sense. Play on.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Coach